New York Workers’ Compensation
1. The New York Workers’ Compensation System is driven by medical evidence.
2. If you are injured at work, see a doctor right away, and continue to see the doctor while you are out of work.
3. Give a complete, consistent, and accurate history of your injury or illness.
4. The New York State Workers’ Compensation Law has a two-prong Statute of Limitations. You have 30 days to notify your employer that you were injured on the job or have a work-related illness. You then have 2 years to file a claim for Workers’ Compensation benefits.
5. Having a “Carrier Case Number” does not mean that you have a New York State Workers’ Compensation case. The Workers Compensation Board assembles cases when they have both a claim and medical evidence to support a work-related injury or illness.
Get the basics of the NYS Workers' Comp. process.
Workers' Comp. can be complicated and confusing. Now, you can get our 30+ years of experience on your side with a free book on the basics of the NYS Workers' Comp. process. Sign up for our email list to download the book.